July Calendar                                                                                                                               Homepage
July 3, 1935 Cheo Feliciano, musician
July 4, 1943 Gerardo Rivera, Lawyer and TV personality
July 9, 1909 Gilberto Concepción de Gracia was a founder and first president of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño. Born in Vega Alta Concepción received several degrees in Puerto Rico and the US. He died in San Juan on March 15, 1968.
July 17, 1859 Luis Muñoz Rivera, poet, speaker, journalist, politician, head of the pro-statehood Liberal Party. Muñoz Rivera served as Resident Commisioner in Washington. He was born in Barranquitas and died in San Juan in 1916.
July 17, 1886 José S. Alegría, poet, writer, lawyer, and politician, became the president of the Puerto Rican Nacionalist Party, and director of the Puerto Rican Insitute of Hispanic Culture. Alegría died in San Juan in 1965.
July 17, 1757 Juan Alejo de Arizmendi y de la Torre was a Catholic priest who became Puerto Rico's first native Bishop.
July 21, 1946 Jesús T. Piñero is appointed first native governor of Puerto Rico.
July 22, 1949 Aida Alvarez was appointed by President Clinton in 1997 to head the Small Business Administration or SBA. She became the first Latina to head the SBA and the first Boricua to be appointed to a cabinet position. Alvarez is from Aguadilla.
July 25, 1898 U.S. invades Puerto Rico through the port at Guánica
July 25, 1952 The Puerto Rican Flag, designed in the later part of the 1800's, becomes the island's Official Flag
July 25, 1952 Puerto Rico's Constitution Day
July 27, 1857 Dr. José Celso Barbosa, physician, journalist, and politician, was a founder and head of the pro-statehood Puerto Rican Republican Party.

Back to Calendar index